h1

Memoirs of a Geisha

May 9, 2006

I hadn't heard good things about the movie but I decided to see it anyway since I had read the book.  I barely remember the book but I think the overall feeling of the book was much different than the movie. I can't really say for sure what details were off or missing, but the makeup and dancing in the film seemed very wrong. 

Of course one of the biggest issues people have with the film is that the actresses are all Chinese instead of Japanese.  I think they might have been able to get away with it if the actresses were Chinese-American and didn't have such heavy accents.  But for a woman to try and pretend to be Japanese with a thick Chinese accent is just silly.

Too long, way too long.  A movie has to be really really good to be that long and not piss people off.

Eric brought up the idea of 10 minute movies where I could edit movies down to 10 minutes so he could watch them and not have to sacrifice 2 hours.  I'd do it except I would worry about getting sued.  I wouldn't want to go thru all that trouble for just Eric to see it, but if I posted it for everyone to see I'd probably get in trouble.

Leave a Reply

