h1

Annie Hall

May 21, 2006

Eric says this is one of his mom's favorite films, and he's watched it a million times with her.  He watched it with me tonight, which was kind've a special occasion.  He usually doesn't watch movies with me, since they never live up to his standards.  He also things most films are too long.

I didn't know anyone else said they "lurve" people, I thought I made it up in my head.  But as I'm finding more and more, much of what I consider mine is actually leeched from film and television.  Such was the case with the sad panda. 

I know one ingredient to make a movie good.  Just throw in Christopher Walken.  For some reason, he's like a pinch of saffron.  It bleeds yellow into everything.

What the hell was with that shot where he's talking with his friend, but for the longest time he's off camera?  Why do that?  I'm trying to thing of a reason, Eric says it's because he was directing it too and couldn't be bothered with trying to keep the camera straight, haha.  Oh well, I'll find out on IMDB.  There's not a question in film that can't be answered in some way by IMDB, even if it's the wrong answer.  But that's ok, because being wrong is at least funny.

I wonder why I never watched this with my family.  How could my husband watch this as a child with his family, with all the sex and drugs in it, and somehow he never talks to them now.  You'd think with a family that open that they'd be able to communicate better.  I don't know, is there anyone on earth that has a really good relationship with their parents besides our landlord and his mom?

Annie Hall and All About Eve were good to watch next to one another.  They both have "witty" dialogue, but Annie Hall is so much more real in its context and delivery.  You can get points across in a single sentence without have a speech or tirade. 

I keep on thinking to myself, in All About Eve how did the grown up ladies develop a Kathleen Turner type voice?  I tried doing it, but I think it might be something you either can or you can't do, like wiggling your ears or curling your tongue.  I just don't think my vocal cords were built for that.  But how did they get so many leading ladies back then with that sort of voice, when I know of only Kathleen Turner of modern day?

Leave a Reply

