h1

The Price of Milk

May 24, 2006

I like New Zealand so I thought this movie might be interesting.  It's always been sort of a fantasy I have to be a sheep-farmer in New Zealand.  I don't know why, but it's always been one of the lives I've wanted to live for at least a short period of time.

It's kind of a trippy little romance film that seems way too simple at times, but it's short and entertaining.  It plays out like a modern-day Grimm's fairy tale and ends with a happily-ever-after.  But it's the visual tricks that make this film stand out and make it a whole lot more freaky than it needs to be.

Standing at the window following around her fiance, disappearing under blankets, the sudden jolt at the dinner table as their about to kiss, and especially crawling up from the back of his head- these things really freaked me out while sober.  I can't imagine how wonderful and terrifying this movie could be while intoxicated.

Vivid colors in movies are nice.  I liked that in Amelie too.

Leave a Reply

