h1

The Libertine

July 13, 2006

The Libertine was a good, funny movie with some dark spots, but was overall entertaining.  Johnny Depp is always a pleasure to watch.  I really don’t have too much to say since it wasn’t really a lifechanging event, and there wasn’t a whole lot to complain about.

The one thing I really liked about it was how they mentioned that life on stage (in movies) is so much more interesting than real life, because everything happens for a reason.  If you meet someone on stage they will have an impact on your life, whereas meeting people in real life is boring and unimportant.  Thousands of people come in contact every day without really effecting each other.  And everything you do on stage is important, if you break something it means something, if you forget something it will come back to haunt you.  I guess people like me just really want more meaning out of things, which is why my head makes up stories about the number 4 and Abraham Lincoln.  I think during my life I’ve drifted between “nothing really matters” and “everything happens for a reason” but I think maybe just thinking about it should make someone more determined to take responsibility for their own lives.  You’d think that, but it doesn’t.  I’m still just drifting down the river of life, letting it take me where it does, and I don’t really mind anymore.

Leave a Reply

