h1

Conspiracy Theory Movies

April 24, 2007

I’ve been watching a few movies by Alex Jones on Google.  I watched Terror Storm and his 9/11 one, and really wasn’t impressed by his filmmaking abilities.  He should certainly stick to radio, or fire his editor.  He tended to rely too much on looping stock footage and other people’s newcasts.  Also, looping George Bush’s quotes with a slowed-down finale with his face zooming in and turning red was like something I’d see in an 8th grader’s AV presentation.

As far as his content, any believable arguments he makes are instantly voided by his outrageous claims that things like fluoride and aspartame are the government’s way of trying to kill off 80% of the world’s population.  You just can’t take a guy too seriously when he says stuff like that.  I think he just gears too many of his arguments towards his traditional radio listeners, which seem to be conservative anti-government militia types, though I have to admit I never heard of the guy before yesterday.

Ironically enough, I met Alex Jones last summer outside the Ralph’s in Hermosa Beach.  I was walking in the store with Niko in the stroller, and he said something along the lines of “I hope you don’t take this the wrong way but…” something about how we don’t look like the other people around there or something.  I really couldn’t hear most of what he said because my left ear was towards him and we were about 10 feet away from him, but he started throwing out Charlie Sheen’s name and I thought “Yeah yeah, another name-dropper who’s trying to impress me with Charlie Sheen.”  So having not really heard what he said, I didn’t know how to respond.  I decided that if anyone is going to be weird in a Ralph’s parking lot, it should be me.  So I said “My baby has an abnormally large head.”  And I walked into the store.

The only other “famous” people I’ve ever met were Michael Moore (another conspiracy theorist documentary maker) and Bruce Campbell, though since it was at a book signing I really didn’t “meet” him.  I had to head back to work before he could actually sign my book, but Eric got a chance to talk to him.  Bruce Campbell was signing some books with a Sharpie and Eric said something like, “Those markers smell pretty good eh?”.  Really classy.

Leave a Reply

