h1

The Fountain

May 27, 2007

I loved the visuals in The Fountain.  Each shot looked like a panel in a graphic novel, with the brightest lights and the darkest darks, and everything perfectly framed.  Unfortunately, I don’t know if the story quite lived up to the stunning cinematography.  I tend to like plot lines where people meet up time after time in history, but I am not sure if that was the case.  I am thinking that the only “real” time was the present, and that the past was just a story Izzy wrote and the future was just the future that Tom imagined.

I’m not sure why I didn’t like it.  Maybe Darren Aronofsky should make a happy film for once.  Or at least one with hope.  The end was supposed to be some kind of rebirth, but I didn’t get the impression that Tom and Izzy would be happily ever after because if it.  I’m not even sure if the end was about eternal love either.   I suppose there could be multiple takes on what the film was about and what it was supposed to mean, but it didn’t feel hopeful to me.  And I guess that’s what I was looking for.

This film did make me think about it a lot.  But I don’t know if I’ll watch it again, and I probably won’t buy it.  But it was very very beautiful.

I would like to make a movie of revolutions, time travel, space, and have a Muse soundtrack.

Leave a Reply

