h1

Magnolia

June 22, 2007

I decided to watch this movie again, because I didn’t remember anything about it besides the frogs falling out of the sky at the end.

The first thing that bothered me was the use of stupid urban legends to prove some sort of point.   I don’t think the movie really tied people’s actions together at all, just their happening bys.  I Heart Huckabees did the whole thing a lot better.   I thought there were too many characters in this one to really get attached to any of them, or to properly explain their motivations and development.   And the whole movie was just plain boring.  It’s repetitive nature of going through where each character is at one moment got old over time, and some better editing could have saved a lot of time.  I’m not one to criticize editors for stretching out a scene, because in any Kurosawa movie it’s usually a good thing.  But this movie just didn’t have the emotional intensity to make that sort of long cut worthwhile.

This week I tried Amerge for the first time this week, and I have to say it’s the best migraine medication I’ve used so far.  I wish I could get money from the company for saying this but it’s really great, and it’s going to make my life a lot more livable now.   Not only did it completely take away the migraine, but it also made it possible to think and do things during the day.  The only real negative side affect was the nausea and abdominal pain the next day, but to me it was an acceptable trade off.  Plus the doctor did give me medication for the nausea part, but the warning on that one scared me off.

I also watched Pickpocket this week.  Mostly just entertaining for it’s nice shots on how to pickpocket, but it lacked any real plot.  The real interesting feature for me was the girl named Marika Green.  She was so beautiful, and she reminded me an awful lot of Natalie Portman.  I looked her up on IMDB and she wasn’t really in anything I’ve heard of.  Who knows though, maybe she was a huge star in France.

Leave a Reply

