h1

The Secret of Roan Inish

July 18, 2007

I think this was a sweet little tale that would be excellent for kids, though I’m sure some might have found it a bit long.  It follows a girl who hears stories of her family and their past, and how they are connected to the island of Roan Inish and the seals who live there.  It seemed odd to me, to humanize seals and make them seem like compassionate creatures, but I suppose it’s all part of the culture represented in the movie.  It was also a bit tricky pinning down the time period in which it’s supposed to take place, though I’ve guessed since then that it happened in the 50’s.  That might make it difficult for many kids to identify with but certain things, like sitting down by an open fire with your grandparents, I hope will be timeless.

I’m pretty sure now that my cat is setting off the Tickle Me Elmo chair on purpose now…

Leave a Reply

