h1

Ghost World

July 25, 2007

This movie is an takes an interesting perspective of an event we have almost all gone through- high school graduation.  I suppose for those that transition from high school to college, the event is not quite as dramatic, but for those who go straight from high school to “real life”, the problems of finding a job and an apartment can be a very big deal.  I guess in college I never really took my jobs or locations seriously because I knew it was all transient, and after college was when “real” decisions started being made about careers and “home”.  But for me, that’s one of the reasons I could never make a final decision, and I’ll be holding down those same kind of transient jobs til I die.

I signed up to take a Mensa test to find out if I am still a genius or not.  I think if I would have taken the test fresh out of high school, I probably would have scored very well.  But if I fail miserably now, or even end up with some sort of mediocre 130 IQ then I won’t feel so bad about having done nothing with my life.  But if I come up with something 145 or higher I don’t know what I’d do… maybe it will inspire me to go back to college and get a real degree in some field I can make a difference in.  Or maybe I’ll just feel more depressed about the whole thing.

Anyhow, back to the movie.  Being a “weird” person, I can kind of relate to the girls at the beginning, but their sarcastic attitude about “normal” people grated on me.  I suppose when I was younger I might have been the same way, and I do recall wondering how people work 9-5 jobs every day and go to bars and go home and sleep, and that is their life. I wondered if they ever wondered about the universe, the hypotheticals of time travel and the afterlife, or if they blindly followed like sheep the things that were read to them.  But really, it’s not so bad to be normal.  They have thoughts, they have desires, they can be good people or bad people.  And even if you never conquered a continent or wrote an epic novel, your achievements will be completely obliterated in the next big crush the same way that all of Da Vinci’s will.  We all matter equally and infinitely naught.

I love watching characters develop and change through movies.  And seeing friends drift apart is a painful thing, horribly painful for every one of us who has lived it.  And you know some moments come where you say “Call me”, but you really don’t expect that person to call you and you know you’ll never see each other again, but there is really nothing else to say.  It hurts though, because for one person to share a part of your life you will never live again is a bond that never gets broken in your mind, but yet you know in your current life you wouldn’t have anything in common.

The one part of this movie I couldn’t bear to watch was Steve Buscemi having sex with Thora Birch.  I thank the filmmakers that it wasn’t a very graphic scene, but still, I don’t want to picture them having sex in my mind either.  I really respect Steve Buscemi as an actor, but I don’t want him having sex in any more movies.

The end was open to interpretation I guess, because it’s not possible for a real bus to have picked up Enid at that stop.  Kind of confusing, since it didn’t seem that the rest of the movie used many metaphors like that.  I suppose it could have meant she was committing suicide, since through have the movie my living room was filled with shouts of “EMO!  SLASHWRISTS!”  Or it could have been some sort of symbolic journey into adulthood.  Or maybe she really did just go someplace and never look back.

Leave a Reply

