h1

Excalibur

July 30, 2007

It seems the 80s was a good time for fantasy films. There are too many to name, but good examples are The Last Unicorn, Labyrinth, Legend, The Dark Crystal, Return of the Jedi (yeah I said it, it’s a fantasy movie, nothing wrong with that), Willow, The Neverending Story, the Conan films, Ladyhawke, and The Princess Bride. I wonder if maybe watching all these movies as a child made me, or maybe even my entire generation, believe that anything could be possible.

I never saw Excalibur as a child, but it fits right in with the fantasy genre so popular in the 80s. It won’t make you think a lot, it won’t move you deeply, but it’s nice for some good fantasy escapism. Some parts were really corny, and some of the dialogue really made me laugh, but sometimes it’s just good to be able to have a good time while watching a movie.

One of the things that really blew my mind is how similar the scenes in Excalibur and Monty Python and the Holy Grail were. At first I was sure that Monty Python just spoofed Excalibur, but upon looking them up on IMDB I found that Excalibur came 6 years later! Why on earth they would borrow from a spoof is beyond me, but the similarities are uncanny.

Leave a Reply

