h1

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

July 30, 2007

I think I read a Harry Potter book once, though I can’t remember which one it is. However I think it’s better that I not read the book first, because it allows the movies to stand on their own merit. And it seems in every Harry Potter movie, I end up thinking how silly the names are, and how they try to jam way too many characters into a 2 hour movie. I’ve also noticed that in every movie Hogwarts looks considerably different, and the casting crew is really having a tough time keeping the main characters looking their age ranges. I imagine by the time the last movie comes out, Harry will look like a college graduate.

I can’t even really explain the plotline. It seemed as if every character was pre-programmed to do one thing, like a bunch of wind up dolls put on the set at different times. Especially annoying is the beginning segment they use at the start of every single movie, with Harry’s foster parents. I thought Sirius was going to take him in the last movie? I get so confused by each progressing movie. I still don’t understand why Draco’s father is running around free when he’s clearly one of Voldemort’s guys.

Having just seen “‘Nobody Knows” it’s hard not to compare the acting of the children.  Of course, “Nobody Knows” was far superior, but I was pleasantly surprised by the girl who played Luna.  Her character was played so charmingly despite being an odd little outcast, and I’m just so happy she didn’t go all emo with it.  Kinda makes me want to dye my hair light again, too.

I’m wondering if a good solution to the pacing and story of the Harry Potter films would have been to make each movie longer, so as to give proper character and plot development, or to even divide up the movies further into say, 14 movies per 7 books.  I’m sure that probably wouldn’t have gone over very well though, and would have been monstrously more complicated and expensive.   Perhaps the task of doing the books justice in movie form was just an unobtainable goal then, but I suppose there was money to be made, so they did it anyway.

One comment

  1. I agree with you! its a great book, but too bad it ends…I feel so empty putting it down after so many years waiting for it…



Leave a Reply

