h1

Mostly Martha

August 2, 2007

I really liked this movie.  I thought the main character was very sympathetic, but I am probably one of the few that didn’t mind her “precision”.  I do have a bit of OCD myself and can’t stand other people in my kitchen.  I also think that some of the feelings she went through when dealing with her niece are feelings people can have whether the new child is a baby or older, biological or not.  Having a child in your life is a huge deal, and a constant reminder of how your life was and will never be again.  And it’s incredibly tough.  I don’t know what I’m going to do the first time my son is somewhere and I don’t know where, or the first time he gets called into the principle’s office for something, or if I found out he’s in a police station or something.  It’s all really scary stuff.

The ending might have been a bit “too” happy though.  I’m not sure if I can really believe that she would leave everything she and move down to Italy with a man she just met a few months ago to be near a niece she just started to get along with.  And being able to get a house and new restaurant right away?  I don’t know, it didn’t seem like she made any sacrifices at all.

Some of the other story points just sort of ran out.  Why was she really seeing a therapist, anger issues?  Or did she have an eating disorder of some sort?  She never did eat on screen.  Sam was kind of a loose end as well.  Why even include him in the movie?  Who’s children was he watching?  Did Martha ever make him a meal?

But, I can forgive these things because the movie was still an enjoyable experience for me.

Leave a Reply

