h1

A Shot In The Dark

August 8, 2007

I think I had seen this movie as a child but wasn’t able to get the innuendos at all.   Now that I’m older, I understand the verbal humor but the physical comedy seems so foreign.  It seems like forever ago that TV and movies used gags like ripping pants and getting hit in the face with a door.  Another thing that really surprised me about the movie was right from the opening credits: It’s funny when people die!  Getting shot is hilarious!  And later on in the movie, it followed the same pattern.  When the assassin kept missing Peter Sellers, the people he hit would die in such amusing ways.  For some reason it bothered me.  Perhaps I’m becoming more prudish in my older years, or perhaps worrying about my son all the time has made me more sensitive about such things.  Just yesterday there was a story in the news about a police man shooting at a snake and accidentally shooting a 5-year-old boy in the head instead.  I don’t think I would have thought so much about it before, but having a son makes it all the more real for me.

Leave a Reply

