h1

Heavenly Creatures

August 8, 2007

All I had seen of Peter Jackson’s pre-Lord of the Rings work was Meet The Feebles, so I went into Heavenly Creatures thinking it would be some sort of sick, bloody, gorefest.  Well, I supposed it was a bit sick, but in a way I can relate to.

The movie chronicles  a friendship between two girls in the 50s.  Because of repressive upbringings, neglect or simply strange personality traits, they are both prone to rich fantasy lives that begin to interfere with “real life”.   I was much the same way as a child, and sometimes I wonder if I still am.  Though I can pay bills and buy groceries and keep the house fairly clean, I’m still not grounded in a sense of how to really plan for the future, especially career-wise.  Maybe I’d be better off as a fantasy writer.

The girls develop an unhealthy obsession for each other.   I wonder if Pauline ever liked the tenor before she met Juliet, or if she just latched on to whatever Juliet was into.  It seemed the case with the clay models and the idea that Orson Welles was hideously ugly as well.  According to Anne Perry, the RL Juliet, they didn’t have a sexual relationship at all.  I think Peter Jackson took some liberty with his movie that was unnecessary, and  he seemed to throw that in just for shock value, or perhaps to make it more controversial.  But with teenage girls murdering ones mother, did he really need to?  I don’t think so, and I think it was a cheap trick.

Because he directed one of the most horrific murder scenes ever shown on film I suppose I can forgive him.  Not since Dancer In The Dark have I been so disturbed by watching someone die on film.  I wanted to turn it off and look away, but I made myself watch.  It was horrible.  And to know that it’s real, that it really did happen, doesn’t help with the “it’s just a movie” mantra to console yourself.

The really sad part is the fantasy ship that sails without Pauline.  She realizes as she’s killing her mother that the authorities are never going to believe it was an accident, they’re going to be caught, and they’ll never be able to see each other again.  But yet she can’t stop the murder because they’re already in too deep, and they just want her screams to stop.  It’s chilling even typing about it now.  And so incredibly sad… when the titles came up that said they never did see each other again, I nearly cried.  It’s a great loss in the world when love is denied, especially one of friendship.

One comment

  1. Oh wait. Yes, I have. I’m sorry, but I just don’t have it in me right now to type it all out again. Besides, it was just ramblings anyway. You didn’t want to hear me go on and on about this, right?



Leave a Reply

