h1

Once (2006)

February 4, 2008

Watching this film makes me feel like I failed Humanity 101.  Somehow I know it’s a good film, and cognitively I can understand why so many people like it so much.  But yet I can’t really enjoy it in the same way.  I just don’t “get” it.

The music was nice, though.  The melodies will stick with me long after I have forgotten everything about the movie.  Funny how that happens, the songs stick with you and eventually come to identify some part of your life.  Like how “Unintended” has become my bedtime song for Niko.  It happened for a few nights, the melody was in my head as I put him to bed.  I hummed it.  Later I discovered the words, and sang it.

I wish I could write my own music.  I tried when I was a child, but never really wrote anything good.  Turns out everything I ever came up with that was a cool melody was actually something else, I just don’t realize it or remember where it came from.  I do have great admiration for people who are able to write music.  I wonder what it’s like to have a talent you don’t have.   I suppose there are lots of talents, abilities, and knowledge I don’t have, but don’t miss either, because I never had them in the first place.  Funny how that happens.  Makes you wonder if “It is better to have loved and lost, than never to have loved at all” is actually true, because I’d say 99% of the world doesn’t know what they’re missing, and don’t mind.  Not about love, but about knowledge of other things.  And I suppose love could count too, if one never knew that love existed.

The only thing I admire more about the 2 main characters than their music writing ability, is the dedication to go out, get a full band, and put down the money to make a real recording.  I’ve never followed through with anything in my life, and I probably never will.

And I didn’t realize until the end of the movie that the 2 main characters were never identified by name.  It was just Guy and Girl, and no, his name wasn’t Guy.

Leave a Reply

