h1

The Sweet Hereafter (1997)

March 8, 2008

There was not much for me to like about the film.  It was slow to start, and dragged out scenes which were not at all relevant.  One of the more revealing parts of the plot many people will miss on the first viewing (the incestuous relationship of the Burnell father and daughter).  Because characters were not adequately introduced, relationships were not well defined, I thought at first the girl was just meeting a boyfriend in the barn.  The plot just seemed to clumsy, the way it was presented, it really made me think the director was just some amateur indie director starting out his first film.  Imagine my surprise when I saw on IMDB that he had many many films under his belt, just nothing I had ever heard of.  Seems he gets a lot of money from the Canadian government to make his mediocre films no one watches.

The soundtrack was horribly misplaced in this film.  Every song or sound was jarring and ill-fitting to the context.  Some of the scenes were completely jarring to the rest of the movie now.  I was always thinking “where are we now”.

The film seems to have no resolve.  The dad is never punished for his incest, and for all we know could be boinking the younger daughter now.  Do the lawyer and his daughter ever make up and get along again?  Who knows, but apparently Delores drives another bus.  Yay for her.

I feel like I’ve wasted my time with this film, and if this is the best Atom has to offer, I won’t be seeing any of his others.  If I were a Canadian citizen I’d petition the government to stop wasting my tax dollars on this man.

One comment

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Mike Harmon



Leave a Reply

